Board of Trustees

The Board of Governors of the University of North Carolina holds all of the UNC-TV's broadcast licenses and is legally responsible for the organization. The General Assembly elects 32 members and a student representative serves ex officio to the Board of Governors. Former board chairs and state governors have emeritus status.

The UNC-TV Board of Trustees is an advisory board. Its 22 members are UNC-TV's most vital link to the public. The Board of Governors appoints 11 Board of Trustees members, the governor appoints four, and the president pro tempore of the senate and speaker of the house each appoint one. Five serve ex officio: the president of the University of North Carolina, the president of community colleges, the superintendent of public instruction, the secretary of health and human services, and the secretary of cultural resources. Members who serve ex officio can also name representatives.

The UNC-TV Board of Trustees meets quarterly, and the meetings are open to the public:

 June 6, 2017
September 5, 2017
December 5, 2017 

All meetings are held at UNC-TV's Bryan Center for Public Television, 10 T.W. Alexander Drive, Research Triangle Park. Committee meetings begin at 12 noon on each meeting day. The full board meets beginning at 1:30 p.m.



Eric M. Teal
Raleigh, NC

Vice Chair
Doris P. Loomis
Asheville, NC 

June S. Atkinson
Raleigh, NC 

Jack Clayton
Raleigh, NC 

Travis Mitchell
Raleigh, NC 

Sabrina Bengel

New Bern, NC
J. Donald Coleman
Hickory, NC 
Margaret Spellings
Chapel Hill. NC
Laura C. Bingham
Raleigh, NC 
Joseph H. Ely
Winston-Salem, NC
Cullie M. Tarleton
Blowing Rock, NC
Rick Brajer
Raleigh, NC  
Susan W. Kluttz
Raleigh, NC 
James Treadaway, Jr.
Newton, NC
Joel Kenneth Butler
Grimesland, NC 
Megan G. Lebda
Charlotte, NC 
Caroline Foy Welch
Chapel Hill, NC 
Orson Scott Card
Greensboro, NC 
Adam Loftin
Raleigh, NC 
James C. Williamson
Raleigh, NC 
Culley C. Carson IV
Raleigh, NC 
William W. Mance, Jr.
Asheville, NC