Allan Gurganus

Allan Gurganus2006 Season

Allan Gurganus' first novel, Oldest Living Confederate Widow Tells All, won the Sue Kaufman Prize from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, was a New York Times bestseller, and has been translated into twelve languages. His novel, White People, was the winner of the Los Angeles Times Book Prize and was a PEN/Faulkner Finalist. The Practical Heart: Four Novellas was a Lambda Literary Award winner. His short fiction has appeared in The New Yorker, The Atlantic, and The Paris Review, and been anthologized in the O'Henry Prize Collection, Best American Short Stories, The Norton Anthology of Short Fiction, and New Stories from the South. Gurganus is a 2006 John Simon Guggenheim Fellow.  


  • Breathing Lessons (1981) 
  • Good Help (1988) 
  • Blessed Assurance: A Moral Tale (1990) 
  • Oldest Living Confederate Widow Tells All (1992) 
  • Feels Like Home : Fond Remembrances in Words and Pictures with Cheryl Moch (1995) 
  • Plays Well with Others (1999) 
  • Sacrificial Couples and the Splendor of our Failures: Scott & Zelda Fitzgerald (1999) 
  • Oldest Living Confederate (1999) 
  • White People (2000) 
  • He's at the office (2000) 
  • For Jack Fullilove (1917-2000) (2000) 
  • For Jane Holding: Some limericks shifty (that might not scan necessarily) on her turning fifty (2000) 
  • Keep Singing with Patsy Clarke, Eloise Vaughn, and Nicole Brodeur (2001) 
  • The Practical Heart: Four Novellas (2002) 
  • A Boy's Own Story With Edmund White (2002) 
  • My Summer in a Garden (Modern Library Gardening) with Charles Dudley Warner (2002) 
  • New Stories from the South (Ed.) with Kathy Pories (2006)