Margaret Maron

Return to NC Bookwatch

Season 15 (2012)Maron

Author Margaret Maron grew up on a tobacco farm in eastern North Carolina on the edge of the Sand Hills and the Piedmont. She left North Carolina for a summer job at the Pentagon where she met her husband and after living abroad in Italy, she and Joe settled in his native Brooklyn. She began writing short stories and poetry, but eventually began writing novels. Over her career she has written 26 novels and two collections of short stories. Her first series of novels featured a New York City Police Officer Lt. Sigrid Harald and was set against the New York City art scene. Her love for her home state brought her back to NC and leads her to a new series of mystery books about a district court judge. Maron says her mystery novels are a "peg upon which [she] hangs [her] love and concerns for North Carolina as the state transitions from agriculture to high tech." Maron currently lives with her husband on her family's old tobacco farm just southeast of Raleigh.

 About Three-Day Town
Three-Day TownThree-Day Town is Margaret Maron's 17th book to feature her series character, Judge Deborah Knott. Judge Knott lives in "Colleton County", North Carolina and as a district court judge her cases take her all over the state. In Three-Day Town Judge Knott and her husband find their way to New York City for a delayed honeymoon, but the couple find themselves in the middle of a murder investigation that leads them to a partnership with NYPD Lt. Sigrid Harald – the lead character from another Margaret Maron's series of books.


For more information on Margaret Maron, visit