Michael Malone

2009 SeasonMalone

Michael Malone is a novelist as well as the author of short stories, works of nonfiction, several plays, and daytime television drama. He was born in the Piedmont region of North Carolina and his distinctive Southern voice permeates his books, which he describes as "centered in the comedy of the shared communion among very diverse groups of people who are bound together by place and the past."  Michael's writing has been compared to Miguel De Cervantes, Charles Dickens and Henry Fielding. He is the recipient of The O. Henry Award for "Fast Love," the Edgar for "Red Clay" and an Emmy as head writer of ABC-TV's One Life to Live. Michael lives in Hillsborough, NC, with his wife, Maureen, whom he met while they were working toward their doctoral degrees at Harvard University.

Play Video


The Four Corners of the Sky (2009)

Killing Club, The (2006)

Dingley Falls (2002)

Time's Witness (2002)

Foolscap (2002)

Handling Sin (2001)

Uncivil Seasons (2001)

Heroes of Eros (1979)

Psychetypes (1977)