Michael Parker

2005 SeasonParker

In 1996 Michael Parker was a finalist for Granta 's "20 best American fiction writers under 40." He is the author of the novel Hello Down There, which was a New York Times Notable Book and a finalist for the PEN/Hemingway award; The Geographical Cure, a collection of stories and winner of the Sir Walter Raleigh Award; Towns Without Rivers, and Virginia Lovers, both critically acclaimed novels. He has published fiction and nonfiction in the New York Times Magazine, the Washington Post, the Oxford American, and others; and his fiction has been anthologized in The O'Henry Prize Stories, The Pushcart Prize Stories , and New Stories from the South. A recipient of a fellowship from the National Endowment of the Arts, he is a Professor in the MFA Writing Program at University of North Carolina-Greensboro.


Hello Down There (1994)

The Geographical Cure (1995)

Towns Without Rivers (2002)

Virginia Lovers (2004)

If You Want Me to Stay (2005)