North Carolina Bookwatch

North Carolina Bookwatch


Fridays at 8PM and Sundays at 10AM on NC Channel

Sundays at noon and Thursdays at 5PM on UNC-TV

Click here to stream full epsiodes!

About the Host - Reference Shelf - Seasons - YouTube Extras - NC Literary Map

Join North Carolina Bookwatch on facebook!UNC-TV’s North Carolina Bookwatch is the state’s premier literary series, bringing the Tar Heel State’s best and brightest Southern writers to the small screen. In every illuminating interview, host D.G. Martin sheds light on authors’ lives, books and the state’s indelible imprint on their works.

  To contact us at the show, please email: bookwatch@unctv.org.  'Like' UNC-TV on Facebook to get more from NC Bookwatch!

This Season on Bookwatch...

Vivian Howard with D.G. Martin on Bookwatch

Season 19

Host D.G. Martin brings you all new discussions with some of North Carolina's favorite local authors in a new season of Bookwatch. "A Chef's Life's" Vivian Howard joins D.G. in the studio to talk about her new cookbook "Deep Run Roots," while John Bemis takes us through the fantastical world of his young adult book "Out of Abaton: The Wooden Prince," in which he reimagines the classic tale of Pinnochio. Author Renee Ahdieh also sits down to discuss her mystery-laden sequel "The Rose & the Dagger," and talks about the struggle of finding a leading character who "looked like her," as a child of mixed race.

Discover a variety of enriching new books to add to your reading list, as D.G. sits down with North Carolina authors like Sara Foster, Tony Earley, Ralph Hardy and more. Tune in next season on NC Bookwatch.

North Carolina's Roadside Eateries

 D.G. MartinNorth Carolina's Roadside Eateries

NC Bookwatch's own host D.G. Martin steps into the writer's spotlight, with his new guide, "North Carolina's Roadside Eateries." Want to eat like the locals? D.G. Martin has spent years traveling the major roadways of North Carolina, on the lookout for community, local history and, of course, a good home-cooked meal. Here, D.G. is your personal tour guide to more than 100 notable local roadway haunts that serve not only as places to eat but also as fixtures of their communities. For more information on author events with D.G. Martin, visit http://uncpress.unc.edu/browse/all_events.

Download the Season 19 January flyer here.

    

Season 19 - Schedule 

Chef Vivian Howard - "Deep Run Roots"
Friday, Jan. 6 at 8 PM on NC Channel
Sunday, Jan. 8 at 10 AM on NC Channel
Sunday, Jan. 8 at NOON on UNC-TV
Thursday, Jan. 12 at 5 PM on UNC-TV  

Steven Sherrill - "The Minotaur Takes His Own Sweet Time"
Friday, Jan. 13 at 8 PM on NC Channel
Sunday, Jan. 15 at 10 AM on NC Channel
Sunday, Jan. 15 at NOON on UNC-TV
Thursday, Jan. 19 at 5 PM on UNC-TV 

Art Chansky - "Game Changers"
Friday, Jan. 20 at 8 PM on NC Channel
Sunday, Jan. 22 at 10 AM on NC Channel
Sunday, Jan 22 at NOON on UNC-TV
Thursday, Jan. 26 at 5 PM on UNC-TV

Nina DeGramont - "The Last September"
Friday, Jan. 27 at 8 PM on NC Channel 
Sunday, Jan. 29 at 10 AM on NC Channel
Sunday, Jan. 29 at NOON on UNC-TV
Thursday, Feb. 2 at 5 PM on UNC-TV 

Carole Boston Weatherford & Jeffery Boston Weatherford - "You Can Fly: The Tuskegee Airmen"
Friday, Feb. 3 at 8 PM on NC Channel
Sunday, Feb. 5 at 10 AM on NC Channel
Sunday, Feb. 5 at NOON on UNC-TV
Thursday, Feb. 9 at 5 PM on UNC-TV  

Fred Chappell - "A Shadow of All Light"
Friday, Feb. 10 at 8 PM on NC Channel
Sunday, Feb. 12 at 10 AM on NC Channel
Sunday, Feb. 12 at NOON on UNC-TV
Thursday, Feb. 16 at 5 PM on UNC-TV

Sara Foster - "Foster's Market Favorites"
Friday, Feb. 17 at 8 PM on NC Channel
Sunday, Feb. 19 at 10 AM on NC Channel
Sunday, Feb. 19 at NOON on UNC-TV
Thursday, Feb. 23 at 5 PM on UNC-TV

Tony Earley - "Mr. Tall"
Friday, Feb. 24 at 8 PM on NC Channel
Sunday, Feb. 26 at 10 AM on NC Channel
Sunday, Feb. 26 at NOON on UNC-TV
Thursday, March 2 at 5 PM on UNC-TV

John Hope Franklin - "Mirror to America" *
Friday, March 3 at 8 PM on NC Channel
Sunday, March 5 at 10 AM on NC Channel
Thursday, March 9 at 5 PM on UNC-TV

Charles Frazier - "Thirteen Moons" *
Friday, March 10 at 8 PM on NC Channel
Sunday, March 12 at 10 AM on NC Channel
Thursday, March 16 at 5 PM on UNC-TV

Pat Conroy - "The Death of Santini" *
Friday, March 17 at 8 PM on NC Channel
Sunday, March 19 at 10 AM on NC Channel
Thursday, March 23 at 5 PM on UNC-TV

Ralph Hardy - "Argos"
Friday, March 24 at 8 PM on NC Channel
Sunday, March 26 at 10 AM on NC Channel
Sunday, March 26 at NOON on UNC-TV
Thursday, March 30 at 5 PM on UNC-TV

Renee Ahdieh - "The Rose & the Dagger"
Friday, March 31 at 8 PM on NC Channel
Sunday, April 2 at 10 AM on NC Channel
Sunday, April 2 at NOON on UNC-TV
Thursday, April 6 at 5 PM on UNC-TV

Tim Tyson - "The Blood of Emmett Till"
Friday, April 7 at 8 PM on NC Channel
Sunday, April 9 at 10 AM on NC Channel
Sunday, April 9 at NOON on UNC-TV
Thursday, April 13 at 5 PM on UNC-TV

Nancy Peacock - "The Life & Times of Persimmon Wilson"
Friday, April 14 at 8 PM on NC Channel
Sunday, April 16 at 10 AM on NC Channel
Sunday, April 16 at NOON on UNC-TV
Thursday, April 20 at 5 PM on UNC-TV

Richard Rosen & Joseph Mosnier - "Julius Chambers"
Friday, April 21 at 8 PM on NC Channel
Sunday, April 23 at 10 AM on NC Channel
Sunday, April 23 at NOON on UNC-TV
Thursday, April 27 at 5 PM on UNC-TV

Matthew Griffin - "Hide"
Friday, April 28 at 8 PM on NC Channel
Sunday, April 30 at 10 AM on NC Channel
Sunday, April 30 at NOON on UNC-TV
Thursday, May 4 at 5 PM on UNC-TV  

 

* Denotes a previously aired episode