North Carolina Bookwatch

North Carolina Bookwatch


Sundays at noon and Thursdays at 5PM on UNC-TV

Click here to stream full epsiodes!

About the Host - Reference Shelf - Seasons - YouTube Extras

Join North Carolina Bookwatch on facebook!UNC-TV’s North Carolina Bookwatch is the state’s premier literary series, bringing the Tar Heel State’s best and brightest Southern writers to the small screen. In every illuminating interview, host D.G. Martin sheds light on authors’ lives, books and the state’s indelible imprint on their works.

  To contact us at the show, please email: bookwatch@unctv.org.  'Like' UNC-TV on Facebook to get more from NC Bookwatch!


Season 18 is in Production!

D.G. Martin and Kathy Reichs

D.G. Martin will host an exciting line-up of local authors in an all-new season of North Carolina Bookwatch, premiering January 2016. In store this season are humorous anecdotes from the authors, surprise performances and much more.

Guest John Hood, author of “Catalyst,” tells viewers about the hitchhiking misadventure of “Catalyst” subject and former Governor Jim Martin. Author Bland Simpson (co-author of “Little Rivers & Waterway Tales”) ventures outside his writing talents to sing for the camera. 

Tune in to see these authors and more, including Kathy Reichs (“Speaking in Bones”), Ron Rash, (“Above the Waterfall”) and Damon Tweedy (“Black Man in a White Coat”). The “novel” conversations begin January 2016. 


Season 18 - Upcoming Schedule for 2016

Kathy Reichs - "Speaking in Bones"
Sunday, Jan. 10 on UNC-TV @ 12 PM
Thursday, Jan. 14 on UNC-TV @ 5 PM 

William Leuchtenburg - "The American President"
Sunday, Jan. 17 on UNC-TV @ 12 PM
Thursday, Jan. 21 on UNC-TV @ 5 PM

Ron Rash - "Above the Waterfall"
Sunday, Jan. 24 on UNC-TV @ 12 PM
Thursday, Jan. 28 on UNC-TV @ 5 PM

Sarah Shaber - "Louise's Chance"
Sunday, Jan. 31 on UNC-TV @ 12 PM
Thursday, Feb. 4 on UNC-TV @ 5 PM 

Damon Tweedy - "Black Man in a White Coat"
Sunday, Feb. 7 on UNC-TV @ 12 PM
Thursday, Feb. 11 on UNC-TV @ 5 PM

Margaret Maron - "Long Upon the Land"
Sunday, Feb. 14 on UNC-TV @ 12 PM
Thursday, Feb. 18 on UNC-TV @ 5 PM

Lee Smith - "Dime Store"
Sunday, Feb. 21 on UNC-TV @ 12 PM
Thursday, Feb. 25 on UNC-TV @ 5 PM 

Joseph Bathanti - "Half of what I Say is Meaningless and the Life of the World to Come" *
Thursday, March 3 on UNC-TV @ 5  PM 

Frances Mayes - "Under Magnolia: A Southern Memoir" *
Friday, March 4 on UNC-NC @ 8 PM
Thursday, March 10 on UNC-TV @ 5 PM 

Rob Dunn - "The Man Who Touched His Own Heart" *
Friday, March 11 on UNC-NC @ 8 PM 
Thursday, March 17 on UNC-TV @ 5 PM 

Hal Crowther - "An Infuriating American: The Incendiary Arts of H.L. Mencken" *
Friday, March 18 on UNC-NC @ 8 PM
Thursday, March 24 UNC-TV @ 5 PM 

Bridgette Lacy - "Sunday Dinner"
Friday, March 25 on UNC-NC @ 8 PM
Sunday, March 27 on UNC-TV @ 12 PM
Thursday, March 31 on UNC-TV @ 5 PM 

Scott Ellsworth - "The Secret Game"
Friday, April 1 on UNC-NC @ 8 PM
Sunday, April 3 on UNC-TV @ 12 PM
Thursday, April 7 on UNC-TV @ 5 PM 

John Shelton Reed - "Barbecue: A Savor the South Cookbook"
Friday, April 8 on UNC-NC @ 8 PM
Sunday, April 10 on UNC-TV @ 12 PM
Thursday, April 14 on UNC-TV @ 5 PM 

Bland and Ann Simpson - "Little Rivers & Waterway Tales"
Friday, April 15 on UNC-NC @ 8 PM
Sunday, April 17 on UNC-TV @ 12 PM
Thursday, April 21 on UNC-TV @ 5 PM 

John Hood - "Catalyst"
Friday, April 22 on UNC-NC @ 8 PM
Sunday, April 24 on UNC-TV @ 12 PM
Thursday, April 29 on UNC-TV @ 5 PM

John Hart - "Redemption Road"
Friday, April 29 on UNC-NC @ 8 PM
Sunday, May 1 on UNC-TV @ 12 PM
Thursday, May 5 on UNC-TV @ 5 PM 

Charles Thompson - "Border Odyssey"
Friday, May 6 on UNC-NC @ 8 PM
Sunday, May 8 on UNC-TV @ 12 PM
Thursday, May 12 on UNC-TV @ 5 PM

Kristy Woodson Harvey - "Lies & Other Acts of Love"
Friday, May 13 on UNC-NC @ 8 PM
Sunday, May 15 on UNC-TV @ 12 PM
Thursday, May 19 on UNC-TV @ 5 PM

Patricia Bell-Scott - "The Firebrand & the First Lady"
Friday, May 20 on UNC-NC @ 8 PM
Sunday, May 22 on UNC-TV @ 12 PM
Thursday, May 26 on UNC-TV @ 5 PM

Bryan King & Shane Heavner - "12 Bones Smokehouse: A Mountain BBQ Cookbook"
Friday, May 27 on UNC-NC @ 8 PM
Sunday, May 29 on UNC-TV @ 12 PM
Thursday, June 2 on UNC-TV @ 5 PM 

Dwayne Ballen - "Journey with Julian" *
Friday, June 3 on UNC-NC @ 8 PM
Thursday, June 9 on UNC-TV @ 5 PM

Lynne Hinton - "The Art of Arranging Flowers" *
Friday, June 10 on UNC-NC @ 8 PM
Thursday, June 16 on UNC-TV @ 5 PM

Douglas McCullough - "Sea of Greed" *
Friday, June 17 on UNC-NC @ 8 PM
Thursday, June 23 on UNC-TV @ 5 PM

Randy Johnson - "Grandfather Mountain: The History and Guide to an Appalachian Icon"
Friday, June 24 on UNC-NC @ 8 PM
Sunday, June 26 on UNC-TV @ 12 PM
Thursday, June 30 on UNC-TV @ 5 PM 

Pam Saulsby - "Ashley's High-Five for Daddy"
Friday, July 1 on UNC-NC @ 8 PM
Sunday, July 3 on UNC-TV @ 12 PM
Thursday, July 7 on UNC-TV @ 5 PM

Dan Bolger - "Why We Lost"
Friday, July 8 on UNC-NC @ 8 PM
Sunday, July 10 on UNC-TV @ 12 PM
Thursday, July 14 on UNC-TV @ 5 PM

Robert Morgan - "Chasing the North Star"
Friday, July 15 on UNC-NC @ 8 PM
Sunday, July 17 on UNC-TV @ 12 PM
Thursday, July 21 on UNC-TV @ 5 PM

Margaret Donovan Bauer - "A Study of Scarletts"
Friday, July 22 on UNC-NC @ 8 PM
Sunday, July 24 on UNC-TV @ 12 PM
Thursday, July 28 on UNC-TV @ 5 PM

David Payne - "Barefoot to Avalon"
Friday, July 29 on UNC-NC @ 8 PM
Sunday, July 31 on UNC-TV @ 12 PM
Thursday, August 4 on UNC-TV @ 5 PM

Art Taylor - "On the Road with Del & Louise"
Friday, August 5 on UNC-NC @ 8 PM
Sunday, August 7 on UNC-TV @ 12 PM
Thursday, August 11 on UNC-TV @ 5 PM

Kimberly Marlowe Hartnett - "Carolina Israelite"
Friday, August 12 on UNC-NC @ 8 PM
Sunday, August 14 on UNC-TV @ 12 PM
Thursday, August 18 on UNC-TV @ 5 PM

John Rosenthal - "After"
Friday, August 19 on UNC-NC @ 8 PM
Sunday, August 21 on UNC-TV @ 12 PM
Thursday, August 25 on UNC-TV @ 5 PM

Charles Blackburn - "Sweet Souls"
Friday, August 26 on UNC-NC @ 8 PM
Thursday, September 1 on UNC-TV @ 5 PM

Katy Simpson - "The Story of Land and Sea"
Friday, September 2 on UNC-NC @ 8 PM
Thursday, September 8 on UNC-TV @ 5 PM

Konrad Jarausch - "Out of Ashes"
Friday, September 9 on UNC-NC @ 8 PM
Sunday, September 11 on UNC-TV @ 12 PM
Thursday, September 15 on UNC-TV @ 5 PM

Warren Bingham - "George Washington's 1791 Southern Tour"
Friday, September 16 on UNC-NC @ 8 PM
Sunday, September 18 on UNC-TV @ 12 PM
Thursday, September 22 on UNC-TV @ 5 PM

Ron Stodghill - "Where Everybody Looks like Me"
Friday, September 23 on UNC-NC @ 8 PM
Sunday, September 25 on UNC-TV @ 12 PM
Thursday, September 29 on UNC-TV @ 5 PM

Bart Ehrman - "Jesus Before the Gospels"
Friday, September 30 on UNC-NC @ 8 PM
Sunday, October 2 on UNC-TV @ 12 PM
Thursday, October 6 on UNC-TV @ 5 PM 

* Denotes a previously aired episode