O. Max Gardner Awards

O. Max Gardner Awards

The award, which has been given annually since 1949, was established by the will of N.C. Gov. Oliver Max Gardner to recognize faculty who have "made the greatest contributions to the welfare of the human race." It is the only award for which all faculty members of the 16 UNC campuses are eligible and is considered the UNC system's highest faculty honor. The other recipient for 2002 was Melissa Hayden, a ballerina and master teacher at the North Carolina School of the Arts. The award, which carries a $10,000 cash prize, was presented by Board of Governors Chairman. 

2009 WINNER: Dr. Jagannathan Sankar

2009 WINNER: Dr. Todd Klaenhammer

2008 WINNER: Dr. Myron "Mike" Cohen, MD

2007 WINNER: Trudy F. C. Mackay, Ph.D.

2006 WINNER: Dr. Ken Harewood

2005 WINNER: Dr. Kenneth Adler

2004 WINNER: Dr. Walter Chitwood, Jr.

2003 WINNER: Branislav Vlahovic, Ph.D.