Ron Rash

Return to NC Bookwatch

Season 15 (2012)
Ron Rash
North Carolina poet, short story writer and novelist Ron Rash grew up in Cleveland County in the town of Boiling Springs. Rash has written 9 books and his work has been published in journals, anthologies and magazines like The Longman Anthology of Southern Literature, Western Wind, Yale Review, New England Review & Southern Review. In 1994 Rash released his first collection of short stories titled The Night the New Jesus Fell to Earth and that same year he was awarded a National Endowment for the Arts Literature Fellowship. Rash has authored 10 books including 3 prize-winning novels. His best selling novel Serena (2008)-- set against the backdrop of the Depression era North Carolina Mountains -- is currently being made into a movie scheduled for a 2013 release. Rash's latest novel The Cove was released in spring of 2012. Currently he holds the John Parris Distinguished Professor of Appalachian Cultural Studies at Western Carolina University.

 About The Cove
The Cove
In his 5th novel, author Ron Rash explores familiar geographic terrain by returning to an Appalachian mountain setting for his story of an ill-fated love affair. The Cove is set in the harsh North Carolina Mountains during the waning days of the first World War and revolves around a lonely young woman looking for happiness and finding it in the arms of a wandering stranger. But the love Laurel and Walter share may not be enough to save them from the uncertain, fearful time in which they live.